A: Put in the infinitive or the -ing form of the verb in brackets.

1. I was overjoyed to saw (see) you at the party.
2. The nuclear station is not likely to blow up (blow up) although it may shut down.
3. Janice was sad to see (see) such poverty when she visited India.
4. It’s possible to work (work) all day without being disturbed.
5. You are free to leave (leave) any time you want to.
6. You should be able to practise singing (sing) every day.
7. Scientists are hoping to discover (discover) a new chemical element.
8. I don’t mind people asking (ask) me questions.
9. He works too slowly to be (be) any use to me.
10. He can ‘t stand waiting (wait) for other people.
11. I guess there is no point  to sit (sit) around here any longer.
12. The lemonade was cool enough for us to drank (drink).
13. Please stop interrupting (interrupt) me when I am trying to explain something.
14. I’ve forgotten to buy (buy) flowers for my girlfriend’s birthday.
15. I simply can’t afford to waste (waste) time trying to explain this to you.
16. The thief admitted to entering (enter) the house but says he didn’t take anything.
17. I don’t really fancy spending (spend) my holidays in Spain.
18. I apologised to her but she refused to accept (accept) it.
19. He offered to help me to repair (repair) my motorcycle.
20. Why does John keep writing (write) to you?

B: Complete the report by putting the verbs in the correct form, using ing or to.

Swimmer abandons Channel swim
James Forsyth has decided (1)to abandon (abandon) his second attempt at
(2)swimming (swim) the English Channel after (3) breaking (break) his ankle in a
cycling accident. His decision (4)to postpone(postpone) this attempt came after a two
week holiday (5)mountainbiking (mountainbike) in Majorca with his wife. His first attempt was also unsuccessful and he is unlikely (6)to be (be) back training for quite a few months. He said in a recent interview that he had not yet decided whether (7)to try (try) on.

Оставьте комментарий